Share your adventures | 📦 FREE DELIVERY FROM 90 €

Fred Horny

FRED & LOUISE.

Alsatian by birth, Fred learned to ski in the Vosges. But it was in Val d’Isère that he decided to put down his suitcases, his skis and especially his bikes. A former skier (well… he is still a ski instructor), Fred has turned towards mountain biking (X-country and downhill) competition for several years. Today, this top-level athlete has become an “explorer” and travels a good part of the year on his mountain bike and independently. What drives him: “meet local populations, climb a new mountain, cross an entire country ”This often means riding 12 hours a day at 3800m elevation! Kyrgyzstan, Vermont (US), Causase (Elbrouz), Ethiopia, Norway, Switzerland, Morocco, Canada, Nepal… To read stories all about his expeditions, go to Fred’s website www.fredhorny.com.

Fred is also a dad, and he loves spending time with his daughter Louise as soon as he returns home. You can imagine that at 18 months old Fred took her ski touring, at 2 years old she learned to ski, and at roughly 3 years old she already knew how to ride a bike with ease (without training wheels, of course).

Fred uses two Mini-Squamish packs for trips on his gravel bike (touring bike) and the Squamish backpack for everything else (except for those trips where he can only take a limited number of kilos for several weeks). He now loves the Piha which he bring in his “next doors” adventures.

WHY WE CHOSE HIM.

Because he “goes big” as we say back home! Because he pushes his limits with each experience, but he thinks of his daughter to always come back home in one piece. Because we share his concept of travel, even if we are unable to follow him for more than 300m. Because Louise loves mountain biking with her dad and her dog Arctic. And because on top of all that, Fred is also a musician …

SELECTION OF PHOTOS.

FOLLOW HIM.

picto
picto
picto
View more portraits

24 November 2021

🇩🇪 Carina is just new to mom's life and doesn't plan to stop traveling in a van, even with a baby that is just a few months old....

2 December 2021

🇫🇷 Pierre-Larry is one of those "extra-ordinary" people with an impressive career: adventurer, skipper, mountaineer, photographer, reporter, writer, lecturer......

24 November 2021

🇫🇷 🇹🇷 Chloé and Gürkan are lovers, but also freelancers, photographers, and “zero waste” enthusiasts that they practice every day in their “Tartine” van....
Join Waitlist We will inform you by email when the product arrives in stock.

Share your adventures | 📦 LIVRAISON OFFERTE À PARTIR DE 90€
Navigation close button

Fred Horny

FRED & LOUISE.

Alsacien d’origine, Fred a appris à skier dans les Vosges. Mais c’est à Val d’Isère qu’il a décidé de poser ses valises, ses skis et surtout ses vélos. Ancien skieur (enfin… il est toujours moniteur de ski), Fred s’est orienté vers la compétition de VTT (X-country et descente) pendant plusieurs années. Aujourd’hui, cet athlète de très haut-niveau est devenu “explorateur” et voyage une bonne partie de l’année sur son VTT et en autonomie. Ce qui l’anime : “partir à la rencontre des populations locales, gravir une nouvelle montagne, traverser un pays entier”, quitte à rouler 12h par jour à 3800m d’altitude ! Kirghizistan, Vermont (US), Causase (Elbrouz), Ethiopie, Norvège, Suisse, Maroc, Canada, Nepal… Le mieux est d’aller découvrir ses récits d’expédition sur son site www.fredhorny.com.

Mais Fred est aussi un papa, et il s’occupe de sa fille Louise dès qu’il rentre à la maison. Vous imaginez bien qu’à 18 mois, elle l’accompagnait déjà en rando à ski, qu’à 2 ans, elle a apprenait à skier et qu’à 3 ans et quelques, elle maitrise déjà parfaitement le vélo (sans roulettes, of course).

Fred utilise deux Mini-Squamish pour ses virées en gravel (vélo de randonnée) et le Squamish pour tout le reste (sauf pour ses voyages où il a le droit qu’à quelques kg pour plusieurs semaines).

POURQUOI ON L’A CHOISI.

Parce qu’il “envoie l’bois” comme on dit par chez nous ! Parce qu’il pousse ses limites à chaque expé, mais qu’il pense à sa fille pour toujours rentrer en un seul morceau. Parce qu’on partage sa conception du voyage, même si on est incapable de le suivre plus de 300m. Parce que Louise adore faire du VTT avec son papa et son chien Arctic. Et parce qu’en plus de tout ça, Fred est aussi musicien…

SELECTION.

Fred Horny explorateur VTT portrait
Fred Horny Main
Fred Horny explorateur VTT Shotgun Ambassadeur MeroMero
Fred Horny explorateur VTT Ethiopie
Fred Horny explorateur VTT voyage
Fred Horny explorateur VTT voyage

POUR LE SUIVRE.

Découvrir d'autres portraits
famille lac Peyto Canada

22 septembre 2020

🇫🇷 Anne-Sophie, Peter et leurs enfants passent toutes leurs vacances à voyager. Qu’importe la destination, pourvu qu’il y ait toute la famille !...
Soapbubbbbles MeroMero ambassadeurs

18 octobre 2020

🇩🇪 Carina découvre tout juste la vie de maman et ne compte pas s’arrêter de voyager en van, même avec un bébé de quelques mois....
Remi Astegiano ambassadeur MeroMero

9 octobre 2020

🇫🇷 C’est un peu “l’influenceur” de l’équipe avec ses 2000 likes par photo ! Rémi est aussi un vrai passionné de montagne qui nous embarque sur les plus beaux sommets autour de Grenoble....